Strong Candidates Round Out the List of Tax Accountability’s 2014 Endorsements

View as PDF
Chicago—Today, Tax Accountability (TA), the political action arm of Taxpayers United of America (TUA), announced its Illinois candidate endorsements for the November 4, 2014 general election.
“This is an important time to elect lawmakers at all levels of government, who promise to vote against any and all tax increases,” said Jim Tobin, president of TA and TUA.
“I urge voters to support these individuals who have indicated their intent to spend taxpayer money responsibly and have signed our Taxpayer Protection Pledge in which they vow to reduce the total tax burden of Illinois’ tax-abused constituents. TA will not endorse any candidate that does not sign our pledge.”
“Candidates like Julie Fox, who exemplify the principals and standards of TA need to be recognized for their long history of tax fighting activism. Julie will make an excellent Comptroller because she is a CPA who has the experience required to do the job and experience in standing up for taxpayers and fighting to reduce taxes.”
“Please click on the links below to find out more about each one of these candidates. Consider making a donation to the candidates personally and most of all, vote for them on November 4, 2014 to help put Illinois back on track.”
U.S. Senate
· Jim Oberweis
U.S. House of Representatives
· Eric M. Wallace, IL District 2
· Sharon M. Brannigan, IL District 3
Illinois State
· Julie Fox, Comptroller
· Ben Koyl, Attorney General
· Matthew Skopek, Treasurer of State
Illinois State House
· Denis Detzel, District 14
· Kathy Myalls, District 17
· Bill Grossi, District 57
· Mark Neerhof, District 58
· Steve Reick, District 63
· Joe Sosnowski, District 69
· Jerry Long, District 76
· Glenn Nixon, District 79
· Diane Harris, District 86
· Brian Stewart, District 89
· Yvonne Bolton, District 98
Illinois State Senate
· Stefanie Linares, District 6
· Kyle McMarter, District 54

Former TUA Executive Director Announces his Run for Chicago Mayor

View Release as PDF
William J. “Bill” Kelly, columnist and political activist, is jumping into the race for Mayor of Chicago.
“Bill has been fighting on behalf of taxpayers as long as I have known him. He was our executive director back in the ‘90’s,” stated, Jim Tobin, president of Taxpayers United of America (TUA).
“It will be a while before all of the players in this race shake out, but we can be sure that Bill will keep it interesting. He will turn over every rock under which Rahm and any other bureaucrat will try to hide their dirt.”
William J. Kelly will formally announce he is running for Mayor of Chicago against incumbent Rahm Emanuel at a June 20th televised town hall and fundraiser at the Palomar Hotel, 505 N. State Street in Chicago.

Get Out and Vote!

View as PDF
Today is the general primary election in Illinois and we need all taxpayers to get out and vote!
There are well over 100 property tax increase referenda across the state and not a single one of them should pass! Remember that about 80% of local taxes go to salaries and benefits of government employees so it’s really not about the children; it’s about propping up the fat salaries of the bloated government.
Of particular concern, are the following:
Rochester, IL – Vote No on Home Rule! Home Rule gives government bureaucrats the right to raise or create new taxes without limit and without taxpayer approval. Home Rule always means higher taxes.
Berwyn South SD 100 – Vote No on 2 property tax increase referenda that would raise property taxes by about $1,200 a year!
Glenbard SD 87 – Vote No on the $35 million property tax increase referendum. This is nothing more than a money grab by greedy government bureaucrats who will tax everything they can to prop up their own salaries and pensions. 309 District 87 employees make over $100,000 for less than 9 months a year!
Johnsburg SD 12 – Vote No on the $41 million property tax increase that was put on the ballot after the district bureaucrats raised property taxes 1.7%, the maximum the law allows without a vote.
Huntley Park District – Vote No on the $19 million property tax increase for indoor turf fields.
Kane County – Vote No on the controversial referendum that will add a new taxing jurisdiction that will benefit not for profit organization who put the measure on the ballot for their own benefit. Not only is this suspect, but it may be criminal because it seems they may have used taxpayer money to fund the initiative.
Our referenda battles have been getting great press coverage. Here is the latest story and our comments in…
And you can listen to our interview with WBBM Newsradio’s Steve Miller…
Please vote for the Tax Accountability endorsed candidates that we need to win in November…
Governor, State of IL: Bruce Rauner
US Senate Representing IL: Jim Oberweis
U.S. House Representing the 3rd Congr. District of IL: Diane M. Harris
U.S. House Representing the 9th Congr. District of IL: David Earl Williams, III
U.S. House Representing the 11th Congr. District of IL: Ian Bayne
Every vote is important in the local elections. You can bet that the government employees will be out in force to vote for the property tax increases that prop up their salaries and benefits. Get out there and protect your income by defeating the property tax increase referenda!
Polls have been open since 6 am and will close at 7 pm.
Jim Tobin